Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Gabe Johnson
Kelly T. King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



#### **COUNTY COUNCIL**

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us



March 18, 2021

The Honorable Michael P. Victorino Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Victorino:

#### SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF NOMINEES

At the Regular Council meeting of March 5, 2021, the Council disapproved the nomination of Mr. Jeffrey Ueoka to the Police Commission. A copy of Resolution No. 21-52 is enclosed for your reference and file.

This notification is provided to you pursuant to Section 13-2(16), Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended.

Sincerely,

ALICE L. LEE Council Chair

#### Enclosure

cc: Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee 
Director of Council Services
County Clerk

# Resolution

No. <u>21-52</u>

# APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE POLICE COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by letter dated January 22, 2021, Mayor Michael P. Victorino notified the Council that he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A," as attached, as members to the Police Commission for the County of Maui, in accordance with Section 2.41.080, Maui County Code, and Sections 8-12.2 and 13-2, Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2 of the Charter requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2(16) of the Charter requires the Council to approve or disapprove the nominations within sixty days after the Mayor submits the names of the nominees to the Council; now, therefore,

### BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," as attached, as members to the Police Commission for the terms as specified;
- 2. That it disapproves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "C" as members to the Police Commission as nominated by the Mayor;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Managing Director, and the Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

/s/ Mimi Desjardins

Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui LF 2021-0336 paf;wal:21-069a

#### **NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS**

# **POLICE COMMISSION**

Jeffrey Ueoka Travis Tancayo (Molokai) Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26 Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

## APPROVED MEMBERS AND TERMS

# **POLICE COMMISSION**

Travis Tancayo (Molokai)

Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

#### **DISAPPROVED MEMBERS**

# POLICE COMMISSION

Jeffrey Ueoka

Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

# **COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI**

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

# **CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION**

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 21-52, was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 5th day of March, 2021, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ Vice-Chair	Gabriel JOHNSON	Natalie A. KAMA	Kelly T. KING	Michael J. MOLINA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Shane M. SINENCI	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA
ROLL CALL	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye

COUNTY CLERK

Kethy L Kaohu