GREAT-2(1)

Director of Council Services

Traci Fujita

Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Gabe Johnson Kelly T. King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL COUNTY OF MAUI

200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

COPY

March 22, 2021

The Honorable Michael P. Victorino Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Victorino:

SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF NOMINEES

At the Regular Council meeting of March 19, 2021, the Council disapproved the nomination of Mr. Dylan Payne and Ms. Nohelani U`u-Hodgins to the Fire and Public Safety Commission. A copy of Resolution No. 21-61 is enclosed for your reference and file.

This notification is provided to you pursuant to Section 13-2(16), Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended.

Sincerely,

ALICE L. LEE Council Chair

Enclosure

cc: Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee Director of Council Services County Clerk

Resolution

No. ____21-61___

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE FIRE AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by letter dated January 22, 2021, Mayor Michael P. Victorino notified the Council that he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A" as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission for the County of Maui, in accordance with Section 2.41.080, Maui County Code, and Sections 8-7.2 and 13-2, Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2 of the Charter requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2(16) of the Charter requires the Council to approve or disapprove the nominations within sixty days after the Mayor submits the names of the nominees to the Council; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "B" as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission for the terms as specified;
- 2. That it disapproves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "C" as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission as nominated by the Mayor;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Managing Director, and the Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

/s/ Mimi Desjardins

4

Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui

paf:wal:21-081a

NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS

FIRE AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

Dylan Payne Nohelani U'u-Hodgins

.

Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26 Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

APPROVED MEMBERS AND TERMS

FIRE AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

.

Exhibit "B"

FIRE AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

Dylan Payne Nohelani U'u-Hodgins

Exhibit "C"

COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 21-61, was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 19th day of March, 2021, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ Vice-Chair	Gabriel JOHNSON	Natalie A. KAMA	Kelly T. KING	Michael J. MOLINA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Shane M. SINENCI	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA
ROLL CALL	No	Aye	Ауе	No	Ауе	No	Ауе	Ауе	No

Kathy L Kaohu

COUNTY CLERK