2.82.040 - Conservation planning committee.

- A. There is established a conservation planning committee consisting of the following nine voting members and three ex-officio non-voting members:
  - 1. One representative: office of the mayor.
  - 2. Managing director or director's designee.
  - 3. Director of public works or director's designee.
  - 4. Planning director or director's designee.
  - 5. Director of parks and recreation or director's designee.
  - 6. One representative: Hawaii-based conservation group or land trust.
  - 7. One council member.
  - 8. Two representatives: general public.
  - 9. Ex-officio non-voting members: one representative each from the State department of land and natural resources, the Sustainable Science Management program at the University of Hawaii Maui College, and the County information technology division.
- B. The council member shall be appointed by the council for a term concurrent with the council member's term of office. The representative from the office of the mayor shall be appointed by the mayor without approval by the council for a term concurrent with the mayor's term in office. The general public and land trust/conservation members of the committee shall be nominated by the mayor, approved by the council, and serve staggered terms of five years.
- C. Additional stakeholders may be involved as resource persons on an ad hoc basis, including subject matter experts, cultural practitioners, and stakeholders for specific lands, including lineal descendants, but shall not be considered members of the committee.
- D. The committee shall assist with and oversee the creation of the Countywide greenprint, as well as provide advice and recommendations to the mayor, council, and departments related to the purposes of this chapter.

(<u>Ord. No. 4878</u>, § 1, 2018, eff. 1-2-2019)

		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
		·		- 100 million (1997)
	·····		 	
-			 	

RECEIVED AT GET	MEETING ON	1	7/20
(COMMITTEE C.			