Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Gabe Johnson
Kelly Takaya King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

November 17, 2021

Ms. Lori Tsuhako, Director Department of Housing and Human Concerns County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Ms. Tsuhako:

SUBJECT: COMPREHENSIVE AFFORDABLE HOUSING PLAN: INCOME GROUP DISTRIBUTION FOR RESIDENTIAL WORKFORCE HOUSING UNITS (AH-14(5))

May I please request the Department's response to the following:

- 1. For projects subject to the requirements of Chapter 2.96, Maui County Code, including projects developed under the State 201H process, please provide data on how market-rate housing units subsidize or offset the costs of workforce housing units. Please provide specific amounts, where feasible.
- 2. Relating to the First-Time Home Buyer's Down Payment Assistance Program:
 - (a) Since the start of the Program, how many recipients have repaid grant funds to the County and in what amounts? Please describe the circumstances for the repayment, for example, property was sold or no longer occupied as a principal residence.
 - (b) What percentage of available funding has been issued in grants per fiscal year? Please include the total amount of the budget allocation, total number of grants

approved, and total amount of funding disbursed per year.

(c) What is the percentage of grant applicants who receive a grant award? What is the percentage of grant recipients who utilize the grant award, i.e. are successful in purchasing a home within the award time frame?

May I further request your written response by **Monday**, **November 29, 2021**. To ensure efficient processing, please send your response to ah.committee@mauicounty.us and include the relevant Committee number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or Committee staff (Alison Stewart at ext. 7661, or Rayna Yap at ext. 8007).

Sincerely,

GABE JOHNSON, Chair Affordable Housing Committee

ah:ltr:014(5)ahc01:ans

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino